The Daily Grind Video

With the steady rise of multifaceted youth hip-hop collectives like Odd Future, A$AP Mob and Pro Era breaking new ground in the genre, Phony Ppl and their Nothing Special EP should definitely be added to your playlist.

The Brooklyn-born and bred group of talented friends makes music that is a resonant blend of rap, R&B and throwback soul sensibilities.

VIDEO: SpaceGhostPurrp On A$AP Rocky Beef: “Everything Is Cool”

As a dope live band and production team, the nine-person group produces tracks with rich orchestration, cunning rhymes, and lush hooks, creating a prolific sound way beyond their years (most of the group is in their early twenties).

VIDEO: Odd Future Previews Rick Ross’ New Track “Presidential”

Phony Ppl’s members – Dyme a Duzin, Sheriff PJ, Elbee Thrie, Aja Grant, Bari Bass, Elijah Rawk, Ian Bakerwoman, Maff Yuu, and Temi O – spent a great part of 2012 opening for Theophilus London’s “Tour De Roses” tour.

The group’s frontman Dyme a Duzin has recently penned a deal with Warner Brothers.

The group just dropped Nothing Special, an EP that is an ideal summertime chilling soundtrack. They give their two cents about sex, trife women, and shut-down parties, creating a smooth tapestry of their summer exploits in the County of Kings.

VIDEO: Joey Bada$$ “Waves” 

Theophilus London is featured on the track “morning after pill,” a dope electronic remix to the song “morning light” from their first album Phony Land.

The sound of Nothing Special skillfully spans genres and influences to create a groove that will keep your head nodding for sure.

Download “Nothing Special” here.

Follow them on Twitter @PhonyPpl